A 1 track synth pop single (3m 9s) — released January 12th 2022 on First Word Records

First Word Records presents the third single from the forthcoming album by Sarah Williams White!

Emanating from the "hilly fields of Lewisham" in South London, Sarah Williams White is a singer songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and producer. Her sound is a unique blend of psych-soul, folktronica and experimental pop.

Sarah released her acclaimed debut album 'Of The New World' on First Word in 2015, which was written, produced and performed by Sarah from her home studio, with the assistance of drummer, engineer & husband, Timmy Rickard. Her projects have seen support from the likes of Lauren Laverne (BBC 6 Music), Tom Ravenscroft (BBC 6 Music), Jamie Cullum (BBC Radio 2), Clash & The Guardian, and she's toured the UK with Dan Le Sac vs Scroobius Pip and Golden Rules (Lex). There have been additional collaborations with label-mate Quiet Dawn (on the recent compilation/EP 'A Family Affair') and with her brother, Paul White - a revered producer in his own right, with credits including Danny Brown and Sudan Archives.

Sarah says of 'Green' "this track began as a spoken poem over looped drum breaks from Timmy's sample-packs (which he later re-created for me live) and the ascending Juno synth line. I wrote it a while back but I think the lyrics are even more prevalent today as our awareness of climate change and the looming future of our planet grows. Isn't it beautiful how abandoned buildings turn green again as the earth repurposes them with new vegetation and growth inside and out? We often phrase it as 'save the planet' but ultimately earth will replenish itself somehow with new lifeforms, it is us humans that'll be gone. Funny but I find comfort in that"

With a voice reminiscent of Peggy Lee, tapestried harmony akin to Hiatus Kaiyote, beats fit for Little Dragon, and experimental production evocative of Kate Bush, Sarah Williams White's signature genre-defying sound invites us into a world uniquely hers.

'Green' is released digitally worldwide on January 12th 2021, with the album 'Unfathomable' following shortly after.

Previous releases:

"Future-facing… wonderfully atmospheric" - Clash

"Absolutely beautiful" - Lauren Laverne, BBC 6 Music

"New and special" - Jamie Cullum, BBC Radio 2

"A shining and soulful sonic odyssey" - The 405

"Dark, feminine, chaotic" - The Guardian

  • Kudos happily ship all items worldwide.
  • Shipping costs and delivery times are available here.
  • UK items are sent tracked as standard at no extra cost.
  • We aim to dispatch orders placed before 2pm on the same day.
  • We are unable to ship orders on weekends or Bank Holidays.
  • If you purchase a pre-order item amongst an order of in-stock releases, we will typically hold your order until all items are in ready to send.
  • Although we use all reasonable means to ensure that your order is delivered within a specified time, we cannot accept any responsibility for late deliveries due to circumstances outside of our control. We will do our best to inform you of any unexpected delay.